Wednesday, August 26, 2009 – Originally posted by Mary to Hawksbill Cabin

I was away last weekend working on chores at the cabin; Jim had to stay at home to catch-up on some office work. We decided to leave the girls with him to reduce their travel stress and to give me a break from the demanding routine of caring for Gracie. Jim administered the correct meds, fluids, and food but Gracie started to refuse food by Sunday, August 23rd. For probably more than a year she has howled on occasion if I have left her even to run errands and she has always been very close to me, following me from room to room and being my constant companion as I work in my home office.

I was able to get her to eat a small bit but her appetite had definitely fallen off to almost nothing. I decided to take her to the vet to have her blood tested to see what we were dealing with and if her meds needed to be adjusted. We saw the vet today. Gracie seems fatigued but her weight seems stable, which may be the result of being weighed in a different exam room.

2 Responses to

  1. LaCata Brown says:

    Gracie looks exactly like our Jnco. She is 15 and going through renal failure. I was searching on here to find some ways to comfort her through this and found your page. Trying to find the strength to be ready for what we have to face after losing our 3 year old Collie to lymphoma. She’s my Baby and its tearing my heart out. Thank you for your blog.
    LaCata

    • Our vet reminded us that because this is a chronic condition, you get to spend a little more time with her. So comfort her, and enjoy her company. All the best to you.

Leave a comment